Hand coloring old photos – – The things you do out of boredom.

This next photos are the example of a technique that I use to give color to old black and white pictures. I won’t lie! Takes a lot of time and patience to achieve it. But if you are “obsessed with color” (like me) and have a lot of hours to kill time, why not give it a try?? I use Gimp. I duplicate several layers with different opacity (and colors). Then I paint the “base layer” using the brush tool. In the end, I merge the layers and save the image.

If your eyes get too tired, you can always save it as a project and continue it later.

I love the color that results. It looks to me like the examples of Kodachrome I've saw on the internet. A film that sadly I won't going to use...

I love the color that results. It looks to me like the examples of Kodachrome I’ve saw on the internet. A film that sadly I won’t going to use…

98% finished. The skin color is the hard part. You have to pay special attention to its color tone to get a "realistic result".

98% finished. The skin color is the hard part. You have to pay special attention to its color tone to get a “realistic result”.

I even changed the hair color of Marilyn in this one!

I even changed the hair color of Marilyn in this one!

2 thoughts on “Hand coloring old photos – – The things you do out of boredom.

Leave a Reply

